COTABATO CITY — The first ever Bangsamoro parliamentary elections in 2025 will cover 32 newly created districts, according to local officials.

This would ensure ample representation of the Bangsamoro component provinces and cities in the regional Parliament, they said.

While the first-ever Bangsamoro parliamentary elections are still far away, many local executives are now trying to build a consensus on which candidates to support for each seat in the regional Parliament.

The interim Bangsamoro Parliament is composed of 80 members appointed by President Ferdinand R. Marcos, Jr. Their terms will last until lawmakers are elected next year alongside with the midterm elections.

Bangsamoro Chief Minister Ahod Balawag Ebrahim signed into law last week the Bangsamoro Autonomy Act 58 that established the 32 parliamentary districts in the autonomous region that covers the provinces of Maguindanao del Sur, Maguindanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi and the cities of Lamitan, Marawi and Cotabato. — John Unson