THE House of Representatives on Monday elected new heads for the appropriations and Electoral Tribunal committees amid a rumored coup against its Speaker.

Party List Rep. Eric G. Yap replaced Davao City Rep. Isidro T. Ungab as head of the committee on appropriations, while Kabayan Party List Rep. Ron P. Salo replaced Oriental Mindoro Rep. Doy C. Leachon as chairman of the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal committee.

Cavite Rep. Jesus Crispin C. Remulla moved to replace the House leaders. The plenary accepted his motion after no lawmaker objected.

“The only guide to a man is his conscience, and the truth will always prevail no matter what,” Mr. Ungab told reporters in a Viber message.

“I will always be mighty proud of my actions as I was raised and taught that there is never a wrong time doing the right thing,” Mr. Leachon said in a statement, adding that he would “never bow down to this masked leadership of tyranny.” — Genshen L. Espedido