FOUR SITES in Luzon — three in Ilocos Sur and one in Nueva Ecija — have been declared as new “tourist destinations” in the country and will be given priority for development. President Rodrigo R. Duterte has signed laws marking the tourism designation of the following: Mount Bulaylay in Cuyapo, Nueva Ecija (Republic Act 11406); Candon City Ecotourism Zone in Ilocos Sur (RA 11407); Santiago Cove in Santiago, Ilocos Sur (RA 11408); and Pinsal Falls in Santa Maria, Ilocos Sur (RA 11409). Copies of the laws, which Mr. Duterte signed on Aug. 22, were released to reporters on Thursday. As tourist destinations, the development of these areas “shall be prioritized by the Department of Tourism (DoT) and shall be subject to the rules and regulations governing the development of tourist destinations,” the laws said. Within 60 days from the effectivity of the laws, the DoT, in consultation with the local government unit of each tourist destination, will promulgate the necessary rules and regulations. — Arjay L. Balinbin