PRESIDENT RODRIGO R. Duterte has signed Republic Act No. 11297, the law renaming the province of Compostela Valley (ComVal) into Davao de Oro. The law will be subject to ratification by a majority of the qualified voters in a plebiscite. Reelected Gov. Jayvee Tyron L. Uy, in a statement, cheered the signing. “As what we’ve said numerous times, the change of name is inspired by the affinity of our people with Davao Region. This cements our place in the ever-growing Davao Region. We expect that this change will help our province in gaining more investments,” he said. The other provinces in Davao Region are Davao del Sur, Davao del Norte, Davao Occidental, and Davao Oriental, while Davao City is an independent city. Mr. Uy also expressed confidence that the law will be ratified by residents as the local government prepares for the campaign. He said, “(W)e can now put our fullest efforts in campaigning for the plebiscite. Armed with pride and certainty, we can now say ‘Yes to Davao de Oro!’” — Arjay L. Balinbin