Accolades for achievers in finance

Font Size
FINEX Folio -- By J. Albert Gamboa


FOR MORE than a decade, the Financial Executives Institute of the Philippines (FINEX) has been giving due recognition to outstanding achievements in the financial sector. These awards are doubly significant this year, since 2018 is the golden anniversary of the country’s premier professional organization for finance practitioners.

In the field of business education, the most prestigious accolade is the Deloitte-FINEX Outstanding Financial Educator (OFE) Awards. It started in academic year 2007-2008 with Citibank N.A.’s Manila Branch as the original co-presentor, while Deloitte Philippines/Navarro Amper & Co. Partners took over as major sponsor starting 2011-2012.

Last Oct. 3, the 2018-2019 OFE awarding ceremony was held at the Fairmont Hotel Makati, with Dr. Sheevun Di Guliman of Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology emerging as the Most Outstanding Finance Educator of the Year.

OFE-Luzon winner was Dr. Maria Delia Poot of De La Salle Lipa, while Dr. Ma. Grace Baysa of Ateneo de Davao University obtained the OFE-Mindanao award. Semi-finalists were Romano Angelico Ebron of De La Salle University-Dasmarinas and Ed Mark Rustico of University of St. La Salle-Bacolod.

Presidential Adviser for Entrepreneurship Joey Concepcion, who also chairs the ASEAN Business Advisory Council, was the keynote speaker at the awarding rites organized by FINEX Foundation’s Business Education Committee chaired by Dr. Rhoderick Santos.

In 2006, FINEX initiated a worthy tradition to honor the Philippines’ top CFO through the ING FINEX CFO of the Year Award — an honor made more momentous and purposeful as it is rendered by one’s peers in the finance profession.

The annual Search for CFO of the Year was launched in 2007 through a partnership between FINEX and Dutch financial giant ING Bank N.V. From the beginning, this permanent partnership between these two important institutions would herald a legacy for future generations of Filipino financial executives.

Now on its 12th year, the award was bestowed to Ferdinand Constantino of San Miguel Corporation as CFO of the Year 2018. Google Philippines Country Head Kenneth Lingan keynoted the awarding ceremony last Nov. 12 at the New World Hotel Makati.

Institute of Corporate Directors CEO Alfredo Pascual chaired the board of judges, while Sterling Bank of Asia President Cecilio Paul San Pedro headed the overall award committee.

Winners in previous years included Delfin Gonzalez of Globe Telecom, Sherisa Nuesa of Manila Water, Jose Sio of SM Investments, Ysmael Baysa of Jollibee Foods, Jaime Ysmael of Ayala Land, Jeffrey Lim of SM Prime Holdings, Felipe Yalong of GMA Network, Jose Jerome Pascual III of Shell Exploration, Luis Juan Oreta of Manila Water, Danny Yu of Philex Mining, and Jose Teodoro Limcaoco of Ayala Corp.

A toast to the best CFOs of the land during the Golden Jubilee Year of FINEX!


J. Albert Gamboa is CFO of the Asian Center for Legal Excellence and Chairman of the FINEX Media Affairs Committee’s Golden Jubilee Book Project.