BASKETBALL legend Robert Jaworski is one of 10 sports heroes to be enshrined in this year’s Hall of Fame.

TEN sports heroes of the country will be the latest to be enshrined to the Hall of Fame.

In a virtual ceremony on Sunday, July 18, the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame (PSHOF) will formally unveil the new batch of inductees in proceedings to be aired live over PTV4 beginning at 7 p.m.

The fourth batch of enshrinees is composed of football great Paulino Alcantara, famed swimmer Eric Buhain, track and field star Elma Muros-Posadas, basketball legend Robert Jaworski, 1988 Olympic gold medalist Arianne Cerdena (bowling), Dionisio Calvo (basketball and football coach), Gertrudes Lozada (swimming), Rogelio Onofre (athletics) and Olympic bronze medalist boxers Leopoldo Serantes and Roel Velasco.

“Congratulations to all the fourth batch of enshrinees! These heroes and their achievements have become a source of pride and inspiration for us and for the future generation of Filipinos,’’ said Philippine Sports Commission and PSHOF Chairman William Ramirez.

The 10 new enshrinees will receive P200,000 each plus a PSHOF trophy.

The PSHOF was created by virtue of Republic Act 8757, or the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame Act. Mr. Ramirez is the chairman with Philippine Olympic Committee President Abraham Tolentino as vice-chairman.

The review committee for this year’s edition of the Hall of Fame is composed of media practitioners Ed Andaya (People’s Tonight), Joe Antonio (People’s Journal), Rey Bancod (Daily Tribune), Dodo Catacutan (, Quinito Henson (Philippine Star), Tessa Jazmines (Business Mirror, Larc&Asset PR), Jun Lomibao (Business Mirror) and Tito Talao (Manila Bulletin). — Michael Angelo S. Murillo