Cleaners, a film anthology about high school cleaners (students tasked to clean the classroom and other parts of the school), was the big winner at the recently held awards night of the 4th Pista ng Pelikulang Pilipino which was held online.

The film by Glenn Barit — a stop motion movie using a series of photocopied stills — won the night’s top awards: Best Picture; Best Director;; Best Supporting Actress for Gianne Rivera; Special Citation for Ensemble Performance for Leomar Baloran, Julian Narag, and Carlo Mejia; Best Production Design for Alvin Francisco; and Best Musical Score.

The awards night on Dec. 12 was held over the Facebook and YouTube pages of the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP).

Other big winners that night were Metamorphosis by J.E. Tiglao, which won the Special Jury Prize for Film and Best Actor for Gold Azeron.

The online version of the FDCP-led film festival ran from Oct. 31 to Dec. 13 and featured more than 150 films. The movies considered for the awards were those that had limited releases in the country or had Philippine premieres at the festival.

Below is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture: Cleaners

Special Jury Prize for Film: Metamorphosis

Best Director: Glenn Barit (Cleaners)

Best Actress: Hana Kino (Come On, Irene)

Best Actor: Gold Azeron (Metamorphosis)

Best Supporting Actress: Gianne Rivera (Cleaners)

Best Supporting Actor: Henyo Ehem (The Highest Peak)

Best Screenplay: Jason Paul Laxamana (He Who Is Without Sin)

Best Production Design: Alvin Francisco (Cleaners)

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Liwanag (He Who Is Without Sin)

Best Sound Design: Arbi Barbarona (The Highest Peak)

Audience Choice Award (Short Film): Night Shift

Audience Choice Award (Full-length Film): He Who Is Without Sin

Zsarlene B. Chua