PRESIDENT Rodrigo R. Dutere has signed several laws relating to different localities, including the declaration of his hometown Davao City as the chocolate capital of the country and Davao Region as cacao capital.

Mr. Duterte has also signed into law a measure dividing the province of Maguindanao in the southern Philippines into two provinces, according to the presidential palace.

Presidential spokesman Herminio L. Roque, Jr., confirmed this in a text message to reporters on Thursday, but a copy of the signed decree has yet to be released.   

Meanwhile, Mr. Roque said Mr. Duterte is aware that there are concerns on the proposal extending the term of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority by another three years.

The President “listens to everyone,” he told a televised news briefing.

The President also signed a law reapportioning the province of Bulacan in Central Luzon into six legislative districts.   

Mr. Duterte also approved the reapportioning of Caloocan City in the capital region into two legislative districts. — Kyle Aristophere T. Atienza