Get the FIFA football fever, follow #WorldCup on Twitter

Font Size

2018 FIFA World Cup 2
The official countdown clock of the 2018 FIFA World Cup is seen on Manezhnaya Square in downtown Moscow on June 7. -- AFP

By Michael Angelo S. Murillo
Senior Reporter

IT is FIFA World Cup time once again, and for fans who want to be updated on action happening in Russia, they can do so via Twitter by following the hashtag #WorldCup.

In information released to media, fans are advised to follow @FIFAcom and @FIFAWorldCup, the official Twitter accounts for updates provided by the official site of the FIFA World Cup.

In these accounts match coverage, behind-the-scenes video and photos from Russia are to be found, as well as access to players seeing action in the quadrennial tournament happening from June 14 to July 15.

And to keep tabs on all of the conversation, fans can search for and Tweet with the official hashtag #WorldCup or #WorldCupFin

For those in search of a specific match, FIFA has put together a list of hashtags, e.g. #RUSKSA for Russia vs. Saudi Arabia happening on June 14, #GERMEX for Germany vs. Mexico on June 17, #SWEKOR for Sweden vs. South Korea on June 18, #ARGCRO for Argentina vs. Croatia on June 21 and so on.

Teams and players also have their own Twitter accounts.

In the data shared, the most Tweeted teams heading into the Russia World Cup were Argentina (@Argentina), Japan (@JFA; @jfa_en), France (@equipedefrance; @FrenchTeam), England (@England), Spain (@SeFutbol), Germany (@DFB_Team_EN; @DFB_Team), Brazil (@CBF_Futebol), Mexico (@miseleccionmx; @miseleccionmxEN), Peru (@SeleccionPeru) and United States (@ussoccer) in that Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal (@Cristiano), meanwhile, was most followed on Twitter in the lead-up, followed by Brazil’s Neymar (@neymarjr), Andrés Iniesta (@andresiniesta8), Mesut Özil (@MesutOzil1088), Gerard Piqué (@3gerardpique), James Rodríguez (@jamesdrodriguez), Radamel Falcao (@FALCAO), Sergio Ramos (@SergioRamos), Luis Suarez (@LuisSuarez9) and Sergio Agüero (@aguerosergiokun).

The FIFA World Cup will see the top 32 teams in the world from five confederations compete for the right to be named world champion.

In Group A are host Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Uruguay, Group B has Portugal, Spain, Morocco and Iran, Group C has France, Australia, Peru and Denmark, and Group D has Argentina, Iceland, Croatia and Nigeria.

Group E has Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica and Serbia, Group F has reigning champion Germany, Mexico, Sweden and South Korea, Group G has Belgium, Panama, Tunisia and England, and Group H has Poland, Senegal, Colombia and Japan.

The two teams from each group advanced to the knockout stage.