By Vann Marlo M. Villegas
NINE nominees including Court Administrator Jose Midas P. Marquez were shortlisted by the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) for the position of Supreme Court associate justice, replacing now Ombudsman Samuel R. Martires.
Garnering six votes each are Court of Appeals (CA) justices Japar B. Dimaampao and Ramon D.R. Garcia.
CA justices Manuel M. Barrios, Apolinario D. Bruselas, Jr., and Rosmari D. Carandang received five votes each from the JBC.
With four points each, CA justices Edgardo L. Delos Santos, Ramon Paul L. Hernando, Amy C. Lazaro-Javier, and Mr. Marquez were included in the shortlist.
Mr. Marquez’s nomination, in the course of his JBC interview, was opposed by Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio, saying he tried to win her favor by meddling in her disbarment case. He denied the mayor’s claim.
Those who did not make it in the shortlist are CA justices Stephen C. Cruz and Oscar V. Badelles, and Tagum City Judge Virginia D. Tehano-Ang mistakenly applied for chief justice but was disqualified because of a pending case.
Members of the JBC are: Chief Justice and Ex Officio Chairperson Teresita J. Leonardo-De Castro, and Ex Officio members Justice Secretary Menardo I. Guevarra and Sen. Richard J. Gordon. The other members are Jose Catral Mendoza, Maria Milagros N. Fernan-Cayosa, and Toribio E. Ilao, Jr.