By Vann Marlo M. Villegas
Justice Secretary Menardo I. Guevarra said the voting for the shortlist of candidates for chief justice (CJ) has been moved to Aug. 24.
“Voting on CJ shortlist reset to Aug. 24 to have more time to review all the documents submitted, particularly the SALNs (statement of assets, liabilities and net),” Guevarra told reporters in a mobile message.
The Judicial and Bar Council held the public interview for the aspirants last Aug. 16. The five nominees are Supreme Court (SC) Associate Justices Lucas P. Bersamin, Teresita L. De Castro, Diosdado M. Peralta and Andres B. Reyes Jr., and Davao Regional Trial Court Judge Virginia Tehano-Ang.
The JBC is mandated to recommend appointees to the Judiciary and President Rodrigo R. Duterte shall appoint the new chief justice from the shortlist submitted by the Council.
The highest magistrate position was declared vacant after former Chief Justice Maria Lourdes P.A. Sereno was ousted through quo warranto on May 11 and was affirmed on June 19 after the SC denied her motion for reconsideration.
The four associate justices nominated were among those who voted to oust Ms. Sereno and rejected her plea.