US PRESIDENT Joseph R. Biden has named a team that will attend the inauguration of Philippine President-elect Ferdinand R. Marcos, Jr. on June 30, the White House said on Monday.

US Second Gentleman Douglas Emhoff would lead the delegation, Mr. Biden’s office said in a statement.

US Chargé d’Affaires Heather Variava and US House Committee on Education and Labor chairman Bobby Scott would also be present at the event in Manila, it said.

Also attending the oath-taking are Office of Management and Budget Deputy Director Nani A. Coloretti, Admiral James A. Winnefeld, Jr., Special Assistant to the President and National Security Council Senior Director for East Asia and Oceania Edgard D. Kagan and US Executive Director to the Asian Development Bank Chantale Y. Wong.

Experts have said the US has stepped up efforts to boost its alliance with the Philippines as it counters China’s growing influence in the region. — Kyle Aristophere T. Atienza