PRESIDENT Rodrigo R. Duterte has reappointed four Cabinet officials who were bypassed by the bicameral Commission on Appointments (CA).

Mr. Duterte signed the appointment letters of Agrarian Reform Secretary Rafael V. Mariano, Environment Secretary Roy A. Cimatu, Health Secretary Paulyn Jean B. Rosell-Ubial and Social Welfare Secretary Judy M. Taguiwalo on June 1, but released only by Malacañang on July 4.

To recall, the CA was not able to confirm the ad interim appointments of Ms. Taguiwalo, Mr. Mariano, and Ms. Ubial when Congress went on recess last month, while Mr. Cimatu has yet to face the powerful commission.

Meanwhile, Mr. Duterte’s vice-presidential running mate and former senator Alan Peter S. Cayetano was confirmed by the CA last May as new Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) Secretary within minutes after session opened.

Congress reconvenes on July 24 for its Second Regular Session, with Mr. Duterte delivering his second State of the Nation Address. — Ian Nicolas P. Cigaral