THE latest enshrinees of the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame

TEN Filipino sports heroes took their places in the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame (PSHOF) in virtual ceremonies held at the weekend.

Legends Paulino Alcantara (football), Robert Jaworski (basketball), Eric Buhain (swimming), Elma Muros-Posadas (track and field), and Arianne Cerdeña (bowling) led the latest batch of enshrinees to the PSHOF in the event on Sunday, which had President Rodrigo R. Duterte honoring them.

Also feted were Dionisio Calvo (basketball and football coach), Gertrudes Lozada (swimming), Rogelio Onofre (athletics) and Olympic bronze medalist boxers Leopoldo Serrantes and Roel Velasco.

“It is a great honor and privilege for me to congratulate the newest batch of sports icons that we enshrined into the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame. On behalf of a grateful nation, let me thank our athletes for bringing pride and honor to our country,” said Mr. Duterte during the ceremony, organized by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) and broadcast over PTV 4.

“Through your dedication and excellence in your respective sports, let your achievements inspire the younger generation of Filipinos to work harder in their chosen fields so that one day they can make our nation proud as you have made us all proud,” the President added.

The 10 enshrinees received P200,000 each plus a PSHOF trophy.

“It’s a privilege that I’ve presided over the selection committee. It was not easy to decide who among our past heroes will be chosen. Not everyone can become a part of the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame,” said PSC’s Ramirez.

Adding, “They are great examples for our youth, they are living heroes and these heroes will have an impact on the lives of our children, the future of our country.”

Mr. Ramirez also chairs the PSHOF, created by virtue of Republic Act 8757, or the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame Act. Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) President Abraham Tolentino serves as the vice-chairman.

In coming up with the latest batch of enshrinees, the process involved going through a series of selection and reviews done by a panel of sports officials and media practitioners. — Michael Angelo S. Murillo