GAC Motor Philippines makes its much-awaited return to the local endurance racing scene when it takes part in the Kalayaan Cup 12-hour Endurance Race in Clark International Speedway on June 12-13.

The GAC Motor Race Team, composed of Brennan S. Lim, and Andre Tan has enjoyed great success in the racing circuit in 2019, highlighted by four championships in the 2019 Kalayaan Cup 4-hour Endurance Championship (Manufacturer’s Class), the 2019 Kalayaan Cup 12-hour Endurance Championship (Manufacturer’s Class), the 2019 Bonifacio Cup 4-hour Endurance Championship (Manufacturer’s Class) and the 2019 Bonifacio Cup 4-hour Endurance Championship (Open Category).

For this year’s Kalayaan Cup, the GAC Motor Race Team will be joined by multi-awarded racecar driver Milo Rivera, who is the 2019 Philippine Autocross Championship Series (PACS) overall champion Kody Ng, the 2019 PACS novice-class winner, and Patrick Mendoza.

“Joining motorsports events such as the endurance challenge will play a key role in boosting the presence of GAC Motor and building brand confidence in the Philippines. It will also enable us to showcase the performance and reliability of the brand’s vehicle lineup, especially the GA4,” said Brennan Lim, branch head of GAC Motor Metrowalk, Pasig City.

The GA4 1.5L MT is powered by a 1.5-liter inline-4 DCVVT Euro 5-compliant engine that can produce an output of 113 horsepower and 136 Nm of torque. It is also equipped with an L-type McPherson front suspension that suppresses high-frequency vibration and for better handling.

The Kalayaan Cup 12-hr Endurance Challenge is composed of two categories: the Makisig Class, a six-hour endurance race with two race car drivers; and the Matatag Class, a twelve-hour test that has at least three drivers taking turns in driving the race car.