Rainbow’s Sunset wins big at Metro Manila Film Fest awards

Font Size

Joel Lamangan’s LGBT-themed family drama, Rainbow’s Sunset, swept the top awards at the Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) Gabi ng Parangal held on Dec. 27 at the Theatre at Solaire Resort and Casino in Paranaque City.

The film about an 84-year old man who comes out as gay to his children in order to take care of his dying lover won a total of 11 awards including Best Picture, Best Director for Joel Lamangan, Best Actress for Gloria Romero, a Special Jury Prize for acting for Eduardo “Eddie” Garcia and Max Collins, Best Supporting Actor for Tony Mabesa, Best Supporting Actress for Aiko Melendez, Best Screenplay, the Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award, and two technical awards: Best Production Design and Best Original Theme Song for “Sa’yo Na.”

“I hope cinemas don’t only consider commerce. They should respect art and the film industry,” Mr. Lamangan said in his acceptance speech for Best Director, lamenting that his film is being shown in fewer theaters than blockbuster draws like Fantastica and Jack Em Popoy: The Puliscredibles.

Following Rainbow Sunset, the MMFF named Yam Laranas’ shipwreck horror film Aurora the Second Best Picture while Eric Quizon’s romance drama, One Great Love, took home the Third Best Picture Award.

Aside from Second Best Picture, Aurora also won two technical awards — Best Visual Effects and Best Sound Design — and a Best Child Performer Award for Phoebe Villamor. One Great Love also went home with the Best Actor Award for Abelardo “Dennis Trillo” Ho and Best Musical Score.

One of the festival’s top-grossers, Jack Em Popoy: The Puliscredibles won Best Float, Best Editing, and the Fernando Poe, Jr. (FPJ) Memorial Award. This is the second FPJ Memorial Award for Rodel “Coco Martin Nacianceno” as director after last year’s Ang Panday. It’s rival as the biggest box office draw, Fantastica by Barry Gonzales, received no awards.

The MMFF runs until January 7, 2019 in theaters nationwide.

Below is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture: Rainbow’s Sunset

Second Best Picture: Aurora

Third Best Picture: One Great Love

Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award: Rainbow’s Sunset

Best Actress: Gloria Romero for Rainbow’s Sunset

Best Actor: Abelardo “Dennis Trillo” Ho for One Great Love

Special Jury Prize: Eduardo “Eddie” Garcia and Max Collins for Rainbow’s Sunset

Best Supporting Actress: Aiko Melendez for Rainbow’s Sunset

Best Supporting Actor: Tony Mabesa for Rainbow’s Sunset

Fernando Poe, Jr. Memorial Award: Jack Em Popoy: The Puliscredibles

Best Child Performer: Phoebe Villamor for Aurora

Best Screenplay: Rainbow’s Sunset

Best Cinematography: Aurora

Best Editing: Jack Em Popoy: The Puliscredibles

Best Original Theme Song: “Sa’yo Na” from Rainbow’s Sunset

Best Production Design: Rainbow’s Sunset

Best Visual Effects: Aurora

Best Sound Design: Aurora

Best Musical Score: One Great Love

Best Short Student Film: Kasilyas by Leslie Ann Ramirez of Bulacan State University

Best Float: Jack Em Popoy: The Puliscredibles

Stars of the Night: The Girl in the Orange Dress‘s Jericho Rosales and Aurora’s Anne Curtis