President Rodrigo R. Duterte on Wednesday, May 2, issued Proclamation No. 479 declaring May 14 as a special (non-working) day nationwide in connection with the 2018 Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) elections.
The President’s proclamation states that “Monday, 14 May 2018 should be declared a special (non-working) day to enable the people to fully exercise their right of suffrage.”
The proclamation also cites Republic Act No. 10952 that provides for the “postponement of the Oct. 23 2017 synchronized Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) elections and the rescheduling of the said elections to the second Monday of May 2018 or May 14 2018.”
The President and Executive Secretary Salvador C. Medialdea signed the document in Manila on Wednesday. — Arjay L. Balinbin