Milo Marathon ‘19 gets SEA Games significance

Font Size

THE ANNUAL National Milo Marathon kicks off its 2019 edition later this month with the theme “One Team. One Nation. Go Philippines!” in support of the country’s athletes seeing action at the 30th Southeast Asian Games this year, which the Philippines is hosting.

Building on the anticipation of the country’s hosting of the biennial SEA Games, Milo said it hopes this year’s staging of the national marathon takes added significance and inspires participants to give their best.

“We call on the entire nation to get involved and rally behind our athletes as they compete in our home soil for this significant sporting event,” said Lester Castillo, Milo Sports Manager, at the marathon’s media launch on Friday at Conrad Hotel in Pasay City.

“The SEA Games marks an exciting time for Philippine sports. May this event serve as an inspiration to all our runners to aspire for greatness throughout the season,” he added.

In partnership with the Philippine Athletics Track and Field Association (PATAFA), Milo said it will send six-time Milo Marathon Queen Mary Joy Tabala and Milo Marathon runner-up Jerald Zabala to the SEA Games and represent the country in the marathon event.

Mr. Zabala took the place of 2018 Milo Marathon King Rafael Poliquit, who passed away early this year.

The 2019 Milo National Marathon is expected to attract over 150,000 runners.

After the kickoff leg in Manila, the marathon goes to Subic Bay Freeport Zone on Aug. 4, Lucena (Sept. 15), Batangas (Sept. 22), Cebu (Sept. 29), Iloilo (Oct. 6), General Santos (Oct. 13), Davao (Oct. 20) and Cagayan de Oro (Nov. 17).

The national finals, which usually takes place in December, has been moved to Jan. 19, 2020 to give way to the hosting of the SEA Games from Nov. 30 to Dec. 13. The national finals is hosted by Tarlac, which expressed its readiness to host at the event’s launch.

For more information on the 2019 National Milo Marathon, log on to or at the Milo Philippines Facebook page. — Michael Angelo S. Murillo