THE CULTURAL Center of the Philippines (CCP), through its Visual Arts and Museum Division is now accepting nominations for the 2021 Thirteen Artists Awards.

The Thirteen Artists Awards (TAA) started 50 years ago as a curatorial project of the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) Museum under the directorship of its first curator Roberto Chabet. It was created in order to showcase the works of artists who attempted to “restructure, restrengthen and renew artmaking and art thinking… that lend viability to Philippine art.” Raymundo Albano, the next Director of the CCP Museum and Non-theater Operations, transformed the 13 Artists into the awards program that it is today.

The 13 Artists exhibition was mounted every two years from 1970 to 1980, and again in 1988, 1990, 1992 and 1994. It was revived in 2000, and changed to a triennial format, which it follows until today.

Nominees must possess the following eligibility requirements:

• Have a body of work characterized by artistic integrity, innovativeness, and forcefulness of ideas;

• Be responsive to contemporary realities;

• Show evidence of sustained artistic activity demonstrated by a track record of individual exhibitions and group shows for at least the past three years;

• Engagement with contemporary visual art forms including, but not limited to, painting, sculpture, new media, installation, performance art, photography, printmaking and digital imaging;

• Have Filipino citizenship;

• Be less than 40 years old in the year of conferment.

Art councils, art groups, heads/deans of art schools, museum and gallery curators and directors, art critics and past Thirteen Artists Awardees may nominate a maximum of three artists each.

The CCP Visual Arts and Museum Division (VAMD) under the Production and Exhibition Department and the Office of the Artistic Director will convene a Selection Committee composed of four past awardees and the head of the CCP-VAMD. The decision of the Selection Committee is final.

A Thirteen Artists Awardee will receive a cash grant to defray the cost of materials for producing new work for a group exhibition at the CCP Bulwagang Juan Luna (Main Gallery), which will open with the formal awarding ceremonies; a trophy designed by a 13 Artists Awardee and specially commissioned for the 2021 Thirteen Artists Awards; as well as participation in the CCP’s public programs of discussions, lectures, workshops and other activities.

The deadline for nominations is on March 1, 2021,  at 11:59 p.m.

The nomination form can be downloaded from Completed nomination forms must be sent to Hardcopy nomination forms will not be accepted.

For inquiries, contact the CCP Visual Arts and Museum Division, Production and Exhibition Department via landline at (632) 8832-1125 loc. 1504/1505, mobile phone (0917-603-3809), e-mail (, or visit, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram @ccpvamd.