PRESIDENT Rodrigo R. Duterte signed Executive Order No. 62 on Wednesday, placing the National Food Authority (NFA), Philippine Coconut Authority (PCA), and Fertilizer and Pesticides Authority (FPA) under the Department of Agriculture (DA), its chief, Secretary Emmanuel F. Piñol announced.
“The transfer of the NFA, PCA and FPA to the DA and the supervision over the HUDCC (Housing and Urban Development Coordinating Council) by the OP (Office of the President) will ensure efficiency and coordination in the performance of their respective mandates, consistent with the efforts to streamline the operations of government,” the order read in part.
The order also calls for the reorganization of the NFA Council. Mr. Piñol said this shall mean “making the secretary of agriculture as chairman with the NFA administrator as vice-chairman.”
NFA Council members include the finance secretary, trade secretary, director-general of the National Economic and Development Authority, social welfare secretary, Bangko Sentral governor, a representative of the farmers, and the president of Land Bank of the Philippines.
NFA, PCA, and FPA, together with the National Irrigation Administration (NIA), were placed under the OP by Mr. Duterte’s predecessor, Benigno S.C. Aquino III.
Mr. Piñol has opposed the abolition of the NFA, as called for even by the Foundation for Economic Freedom, and instead has called for its designation to his agency. — Reicelene Joy N. Ignacio