THE NATIONAL Solid Waste Management Commission (NSWMC) approved the Solid Waste Management (SWM) Plan of Quezon City and 15 municipalities in Luzon during its en banc meeting on Aug. 28. The 15 towns are: Dilasag, Dipaculao, and San Luis in Aurora province; Mallig, Isabela; Bacnotan, La Union; General Nakar, Quezon; Mangaldan, Pangasinan; Angat and Guiguinto in Bulacan; Alfonso Lista and Lagawe in Ifugao; and Bongabon, General Natividad, Guimba, and Talugtog in Nueva Ecija. Environment Undersecretary for SWM and Local Government Unit (LGU) Concerns Benny D. Antiporda said the NSWMC, which is under the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, has made it easier and faster for LGUs to secure approval for their plans. Republic Act 9003, the Ecological Solid Waste Management Act of 2000, requires all LGUs to come up with and implement an SWM. Mr. Antiporda reminded local leaders that, “Improper or non-implementation of an approved SWM plan could lead to its cancellation and filing of charges against concerned local officials.” He also encouraged all LGUs to develop a good system on recycling, composting and disposal of solid wastes.