Top Story

Duterte widens lead, Robredo outpaces Marcos in VP race

Posted on May 10, 2016 11:31:17 AM

BREAKING NEWS ( Updated as of 04:26:00 AM )

DAVAO CITY Mayor Rodrigo R. Duterte has extended his comfortable lead over his rivals, while Liberal Party’s (LP) bet Maria Leonor 'Leni' G. Robredo has taken the lead in vice-presidential race, based on the Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Voting’s (PPCRV) partial unofficial count.

Liberal Party's vice-presidential bet Leni Robredo waves to her supporters during a campaign rally early this year. -- AFP
As of 4:30 p.m. of May 10, 87,457 clustered precincts or 92.77% of the total 92,509 have been counted, with Mr. Duterte getting 15,520,595 or 38.65% of the votes. Trailing him in a distant second was LP standard-bearer Manuel "Mar" A. Roxas II with 9,386,781 votes (23.37%), followed by Senator Grace Poe with 8,690,863 votes (21.64%), Vice-President Jejomar C. Binay with 5,154,026 votes (12.83%), Sen. Miriam Defensor-Santiago with 1,383,318 votes (3.44%).

Meanwhile, Ms. Robredo snatched the lead over her rival, Senator Ferdinand "Bongbong" R. Marcos, Jr., 12 hours after vote counting started, and the Camarines Sur representative continued to widen her lead since. As of 4:30 p.m., she has garnered 13,605,015 votes (35.09%) over Mr. Marcos’s 13,394,086 votes (34.55%).

Mr. Duterte's running-mate Sen. Alan Peter S. Cayetano got 5,545,739 votes or 14.3% while early favorite Sen. Francis Joseph G. Escudero ended fourth with 4,675,015 votes (12.06%).

Rounding up the tally was Sen. Antonio F. Trillanes IV with 815,999 (2.1%) and Sen. Gregorio B. Honasan II with 734,975 (1.9%).


In the same partial unofficial count by the PPCRV sourced from Commission on Elections Transparency Server, reelectionist Sen. Franklin M. Drilon led the Senate race, followed by Emmanuel Joel J. Villanueva, who used to head the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA). Another reelectionist, Sen. Vicente C. Sotto III, came in third, followed by former rehabilitation czar Panfilo M. Lacson, Sr., and former senator Richard J. Gordon.

Completing the top 12 are:

• Juan Miguel F. Zubiri

• Ana Theresia Hontiveros-Baraquel

• Emmanuel "Manny" D. Pacquiao

• Francisco N. Pangilinan

• Sherwin T. Gatchalian

• Ralph G. Recto

• Leila M. De Lima

-- Raynan F. Javil