Comelec sets election period starting January

Posted on August 25, 2015

THE COMMISSION on Elections (Comelec) has released the calendar of activities and periods of prohibited acts to be enforced for the May 9, 2016 national elections.

2010 BW file photo
Resolution No. 9981 sets the election period from Jan. 10 to June 8, 2016. During this period, the government will be prohibited from altering the territory of an election precinct, transferring civil service employees, and suspending elective local officials.

Carrying deadly weapons and the use of security personnel, unless authorized by the Comelec, are prohibited. The Omnibus Election Code also bans the maintenance of “reaction forces, strike forces or other similar forces” during this five-month period.

From Feb. 9 to May 9, giving donations or gifts and using special police agents will be prohibited.

From March 25 to May 8, the government will be barred from releasing or spending public funds and constructing public works. Hiring new employees or granting promotions or salary increases will also be prohibited.

Click to enlarge

Elections will be held on May 9 locally, while overseas voters will cast their votes from April 9 (8:00 a.m., host country) to May 9 (7:00 p.m., Philippines).

Other activities within the period include the posting of the certified list of voters on Feb. 9, and the testing of vote-scanning machines from May 2-6.

The campaign period for national candidates (the president and vice-president, 12 senators, 58 party-list representatives) will be from Feb. 9-May 7. For local candidates, including 235 district representatives as well as elective regional, provincial, city and municipal officials, the period runs from March 25 to May 7.

The registration and validation of local and overseas voters will be allowed until Oct. 31.

Such applications will be suspended from Oct. 12 to Oct. 16, the one-week period for the filing of certificates of candidacy for all elective positions.

There are 18,069 elective positions up for grabs in the 2016 national and local elections. For national positions, the following will be elected: one president and vice-president, 12 senators, and 58 party-list representatives.

Local positions include: 235 district representatives, 81 governors and vice-governors, 772 Sangguniang Panlalawigan board members, 144 city mayors and vice-mayors, 1,610 Sangguniang Panlungsod councilors, 1,490 municipal mayors and vice-mayors, and 11,924 Sangguniang Bayan councilors. -- Vince Alvic Alexis F. Nonato