The Commission on Appointments (CA) on Wednesday, March 7, approved the nomination of nine lawmakers as military officers with the rank of colonel for the Armed Forces of the Philippines Reserve Command (AFP RESCOM).

House Speaker Pantaleon D. Alvarez was promoted to colonel for the Philippine Navy-Marines, House Majority Leader Rodolfo C. Fariñas for the Judge Advocate General Service as well as Senator Loren B. Legarda and Davao Oriental Rep. Joel Mayo Z. Almario (2nd district) for the Philippine Air Force.

Promoted officers for the Philippine Army included Senator Emmanuel D. Pacquiao, Reps. Gwendolyn F. Garcia (Cebu, 3rd district), Roy M. Loyola (Cavite, 5th district), Bai Sandra A. Sema (Maguindanao, 1st district) and Marlyn L. Primicias-Agabas (Pangasinan, 6th district).

The CA also confirmed the appointment of deputy chief of staff for AFP civil military operations Rene Glen O. Paje to the rank of Major General. Mr. Paje is a member of the Philippine Military Academy Sinagtala class of 1986. — Camille A. Aguinaldo