BSP creates fourth unit as part of reorganization plan

Font Size


The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) will introduce a new unit to be headed by a third deputy governor as part of its reorganization plan, it announced on Friday, May 11.

In a statement, the central bank revealed a “phased” reorganization which involved the renaming of three existing sectors and the creation of a new unit. The adjustment is seen “to enhance its capability to fulfill its mandate in an ever-shifting economic landscape,” the BSP said.

The changes took effect on May 2.

The four sectors are as follows:

• the Financial Supervision Sector, formerly known as the Supervision and Examination Sector headed by Deputy Governor Chuchi G. Fonacier;


• the Monetary and Economics Sector, previously the Monetary Stability Sector (MSS) headed by Deputy Governor Diwa C. Guinigundo;

• the Corporate Services Sector, formerly named the Resource Management Sector led by Deputy Governor Maria Almasara Cyd N. Tuaño-Amador;

• and the Currency Management Sector, previously under the MSS with Assistant Governor Dahlia D. Luna sitting as acting head. — Melissa Luz T. Lopez