Ben&Ben to drop 1 single, 2 videos in Feb.

Font Size

THE nine-piece band Ben&Ben

INDIE folk pop band Ben&Ben is set to drop two new music videos and a new single, “Sa Susunod na Habangbuhay,” within the month.

Though no specific date has been set, the band — which became popular after releasing “Maybe the Night” in 2018 — is expected to drop the videos and music in February. The new single was previewed on Feb. 5 at the Samsung Awesome Concert in Bonifacio Global City, Taguig.

“We don’t want to say much about it yet, but it’s our most personal, painful song so far,” Paolo Benjamin Guico was quoted as saying in a release.

“Miguel [Benjamin Guico] wrote and sung it, and we’re playing it in our live shows. We’ve heard that lots of videos of the live version are going around, and we find that super cool,” he added.

The song is lament about breaking up because of broken trust, according to fan-captured live version of the song.

Aside from the new single, the band is also dropping music videos for “Masyado pang Maaga” and “Fall,” the latter of which is included in the group’s debut album, Limasawa Street released in 2019. “Masyado pang Maaga” is a standalone single released late last year.

The treatment for the “Fall” music video represents the band and “themes and moods their art stands for,” according to Miguel Guico in the release. The music video is directed by Raymond Dacones.

The music video for “Masyado pang Maaga,” directed by Jorel Lising, depicts “a real story that most of us have found ourselves in at one point of our lives.”

“Both of them aim to paint a visual universe that is uniquely Ben&Ben, with whatever sabaw (all over the place) ideas we’ve come up with so far,” he added.

While the band has existed in various forms since 2015 (they were called Ben&Ben&Ben, then), it was in 2018 that their popularity zoomed after the release of singles including “Maybe the Night,” which was ued in the 2018 Dan Villegas movie, Exes Baggage, starring Angelica Panganiban and Carlo Aquino.

The nine-piece band’s current members are Miguel Benjamin Guico (vocals, guitars), Paolo Benjamin Guico (vocals, guitars), Poch Barretto (electric guitars), Jam Villanueva (drums), Agnes Reoma (bass), Patricia Lasaten (keyboards), Toni Muñoz (percussion), Andrew de Pano (percussion, backing vocals), and Keifer Cabugao (violin).

“It really boils down to the heart behind the song,” Miguel Guico said in the release, adding, “When a song is written as a vessel to carry a message that is beyond ego or prideful intent, and simply mirrors the feelings, experiences, and lessons that come from a higher place, then somehow it may find its way from the artist’s soul to at least one other person’s heart, and that is always enough. We fully know that it isn’t up to us to produce these works out of our own will, but we are simply vessels for some greater message to fulfill itself through us.” — ZBC