KHAVN DE LA CRUZ’s Philippine-American wartime drama, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness (2017) was the night’s biggest winner at the 66th Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences (FAMAS) Awards, winning Best Picture among with a slew of technical awards including Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography and Best Original Screenplay.
Meanwhile, the top acting awards were given to Agot Isidro for Dan Villegas’ Changing Partners (2017) and Allen Dizon for Ralston Jover’s Bomba (2017).
The Grand Jury Prize for Outstanding Film went to two films — Arnel Barbarona’s 2017 Lumad film, Tu Pug Imatuy (The Right to Kill) and Alberto “Treb” Monteras II’s 2017 political hip-hop film Respeto.
Mr. Barbarona also won the Best Director nod for his work in Tu Pug Imatuy while multi-awarded director Lav Diaz was given the awards’ Lifetime Achievement Award.
The FAMAS Awards Night was held on June 10 at the Theatre at Solaire Resort and Casino in Parañaque City.
Below is the complete list of winners:
Best Picture: Balangiga: Howling Wilderness
Grand Jury Prize for Outstanding Film: Tu Pug Imatuy (The Right to Kill) and Respeto
Best Director: Arnel Barbarona for Tu Pug Imatuy (The Right to Kill)
Best Actor in a Leading Role: Allen Dizon for Bomba
Best Actress in a Leading Role: Agot Isidro for Changing Partners
Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Mon Confiado for Mga Gabing Kasinghaba ng Hair Ko
Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Odette Khan for Bar Boys
Best Adapted Screenplay: Changing Partners
Best Original Screenplay: Khavn dela Cruz, Achinette Villamor and Jerry Gracio for Balangiga: Howling Wilderness
Best Editing: Victor Delotavo for Yield
Best Production Design: Marija Vicente, Timmy Harn and Zues Bascon for Balangiga: Howling Wilderness
Best Cinematography: Albert Banzon for Balangiga: Howling Wilderness
Best Original Song: “Katurog Na” from Balangiga: Howling Wilderness
Best Musical Score: Jay Oliver Durias for Respeto
Best Visual Effects: Iar Arondaing for Instalado
Best Sound: Mikko Quizon, Jason Conanan, Kathrine Salinas, John Perez for Nervous Translation
Grand Jury Prize for Short Film: Dory and Aliens Ata
Best Short Film: Hilom
Best Documentary Film: Yield
German Moreno Youth Achievement Award: Awra Briguela
FPJ Memorial Award: Coco Martin
Dolphy Memorial Award: Vice Ganda
Lifetime Achievement Award: Lav Diaz
Male Face of the Night: JC Santos
Female Face of the Night: Maxx Eigenmann — ZBC