Babae at Baril is the big winner at Gawad Urian

Font Size


FEMALE-LED crime/thriller Babae at Baril was the night’s big winner at the 2020 Gawad Urian awards ceremony, winning Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actress, and three other technical awards. The awards show was held on Nov. 10 via YouTube.

“Thank you very much Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino  for acknowledging everything we were trying to achieve with this film for Filipina women. So honored and humbled and grateful to be part of team Babae at Baril!” Janine Gutierrez, the film’s lead actress and the 2020 Gawad Urian Best Actress, said via her Instagram account.

“We may not have attended New York [City International Film Festival] and Osaka [Asian Film Festival], it’s a different accomplishment to have been noticed by our Gawad Urian (and for me, to belong amongst the actors I’ve looked up to for a long time),” Ms. Gutierrez said in the vernacular before thanking the cast and crew of the film.

Babae at Baril was shown this year in both the Asian Film Festival and the City International Film Festival where it was the opening film.

Babae at Baril (2019), directed by Rae Red, tells the story of a saleslady who’s had enough of being an underdog and tries to change her life after she finds a gun.


The film also won Best Cinematography (Tey Clamor), Best Editing (Ilsa Malsi), and Best Production Design (Eero Yves Francisco).

The Gawad Urian is an annual awards ceremony which has been held since 1977 and is given by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (Filipino Film Critics). It is often regarded as the equivalent of the US’ New York Film Critics Circle.

Below is the full list of winners of Gawad Urian 2020:

Best Picture: Babae at Baril

Best Director: Rae Red

Best Actress: Janine Gutierrez (Babae at Baril)

Best Actor: Elijah Canlas (Kalel, 15)

Best Supporting Actress: Yayo Aguila (Metamorphosis)

Best Supporting Actor: Kristoffer King (Verdict)

Best Screenplay: Jun Lana (Kalel, 15)

Best Cinematography: Tey Clamor (Babae at Baril)

Best Editing: Ilsa Malsi (Babae at Baril)

Best Production Design: Eero Yves Francisco (Babae at Baril)

Best Music: Jude Gitamondoc and Cindy Velasquez (Huwebes, Huwebes)

Best Sound: John Michael Peres and Mikko Quizon (Mañanita)

Best Documentary: No Data Plan by Miko Revereza

Best Short Film: Tokwifi by Carla Pulido Ocampo

Natatanging Gawad Urian: Fiel Corrales Zabat (Production Designer)

Z.B. Chua