And the winners are….

Font Size

THIS YEAR’S Palanca Awards — given out on Nov. 8 at the Rigodon Ballroom of The Peninsula Manila hotel in Makati — accepted 1,167 entries which were then evaluated by 63 authors, poets, and academics who determined which literary compositions deserved to be conferred the prestigious award. There were 22 categories with 56 winning writers — 32 of whom are first-time awardees.

Named after the businessman and philanthropist Don Carlos Palanca Sr., the Palanca Awards was founded in 1950 with the aim to “enrich Philippine Literature by giving incentives to writers and serving as a treasury of Philippine literary gems.” It is the longest-running literary competition in the Philippines.

As of September 2019, the Palanca Awards collection consists of 2,499 winning works composed of 640 short stories, 414 collections of poetry, 256 essays, 388 one-act plays, 219 full-length plays, 60 teleplays, 77 screenplays, 187 stories for children, 34 futuristic fiction stories, 122 student essays, 44 novels, and 58 collections of poetry written for children in English, Filipino, Regional Languages, and Kabataan Division.

The full list of winners follows:

• Essay — 1st prize: Enrico Miguel Pe Aguirre Perez, “Thoughts on Eden”; 2nd prize: Criscela Ysabelle A. Racelis, “Before You Click”; 3rd prize: Ann Jeline R. Pablo, “The Naught of What-is, What-ifs, and Whats-not”

• Sanaysay — 1st prize: Marielle M. Calicdan, “Echo Mula Sa Gatilyo”; 2nd prize: Mark Andy Pedere, “Sa Pilang Salungat sa Manghuhula at Bolang Kristal”; 3rd prize: Adrian Pete Medina, “Pregonir Noon Akto-o He’n Fa Gali Em (May Katotohanan pa pala)”

Nobela — Jerking Guzman Pingol, Agaw-anino

Maikling Kwento — 1st prize: Eros S. Atalia, “Si Etot”; 2nd prize: Benjamin Joshua L. Gutierrez, “Dahil Wala Kaming Tubig”; 3rd prize: Allan Alberto N. Derain, “Hilaw at Luto sa Bangkete ni Kapitan Gimo

Maikling Kwentong Pambata — 1st prize: Luis P. Gatmaitan, “Maselan ang Tanong ng Batang si Usman”; 2nd prize: Victoria Estrella C. Bravo, “Ako ang Kuya”; 3rd prize: Jacqueline V. Franquelli, “Anak ng Tinapay

Sanaysay — 1st prize: Marianne Mixkaela Z. Villalon, “Form & Content: Sandata sa Panahon ng Disimpormasyon at War on Drugs”; 2nd prize: Wilfredo O. Pascual, Jr., “Sumasaiyo”; 3rd prize: Reson A. Gregorio, “Wala sa Langit si Hesus

Tula — 1st prize: Lamberto E. Antonio, Turno Kung Nokturno at iba pang Tiyempo ng Rilyebo sa Pagberso; 2nd prize: Ralph Lorenz G. Fonte, Ang Wika ng Dagat ay Layo; 3rd prize: Allan John Andres, Yaong Hindi Maaaring Hawakan nang Buo

Tula para sa mga bata — 1st prize: no winner; 2nd prize: John Romeo L. Venturero, Ganito sa Pabrika; 3rd prize: German Villanueva Gervacio, Ang Totoo Raya, ang Ulan ay Luha ng Bituin

Dulang May Isang Yugto — 1st prize: no winner; 2nd prize: Chona M. Fernando, Beach House; 3rd prize: Bridgette Ann M. Rebuca, Transient Lovers

Dulang Ganap ang Haba — 1st prize: Dustin Edward D. Celestino, Ang Duyan ng Magiting; 2nd prize: Mario L. Mendez, Jr., Ang Huling Mambabatok; 3rd prize: Bonifacio P. Ilagan, Junix at Maricel

Dulang Pampelikula — 1st prize: Mary Honeylyn Joy E. Alipio, Teatro Pacifico; 2nd prize: Jaymar Santos Castro, Angkas; 3rd prize: Rodolfo C. Vera, Nana Rosa

• Short Story (Cebuano) — 1st prize: Roehl Joseph A. Dazo, “Binignit”; 2nd prize: Januar E. Yap, “Ang Haya ni Tasyo”; 3rd prize: Jondy M. Arpilleda, “Armas

• Short Story (Hiligaynon) — 1st prize: Alice Tan Gonzales, “Si Ena sa Kasisidmon”; 2nd prize: Ritchie D. Pagunsan, “Pakutkot”; 3rd prize: Anthony B. Capirayan, “Ang mga Retrato sang Dalaga

• Short Story (Ilocano) — 1st prize: Edison B. Tobias, “El Quinto”; 2nd prize: Daniel L. Nesperos, “Ti Kayo”; 3rd prize: Remedios S. Tabelisma-Aguillon, “Naisangsangayan a Sangaili

• Novel — Reine Arcache Melvin, The Betrayed

• Short Story — 1st prize: Kathleen Osias, “James Machine”; 2nd prize: Rayjinar Anne Marie de Guia Salcedo, “Death for Serafina”; 3rd prize: Adrian Carl M. Pescador, “Neon Blindness”

• Short Story for Children — 1st prize: Juanita Roxas Singer, “Pretty Peach and The Color-Matching Kaleidoscope”; 2nd prize Victoria Estrella C. Bravo, “Hair”; 3rd prize Daisy Ruth Oñate Sohne, “The Accidental Adventure of Bubalus Bubalis”

• Essay — 1st prize: Jocelyn G. Nicolas, “The Age of the Missing”; 2nd prize Josephine V. Roque, “Ashfall”; 3rd prize: Michaela Sarah De Leon, “Call Me A Book ‘Editor,’ I Dare You”

• Poetry — 1st prize: Regine Miren D. Cabato, Notes from the Field; 2nd prize: Rodrigo V. Dela Peña, Jr., Pentimento; 3rd prize: Alvin Dela Serna Lopez, Departures

• Poetry Written for Children — 1st prize: no winner; 2nd prize: no winner; 3rd prize: Mia A. Buenaventura, What Magical Fur is This? And Other Poems

• One-act Play — 1st prize: Peter Zaragoza, Mayshle Dolorosa; 2nd prize: Adrian Carl M. Pescador, Daddy Complex; 3rd prize: Maria Amparo Nolasco Warren, The Root of all Magic

• Full-length Play — 1st prize: Justin Michael A. Naniong, Changelings; 2nd prize: Rolando S. Salvaña, Mercy Country; 3rd prize: Lito Casaje, Theoria Republica