THE DEPARTMENT of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) announced Monday that seven national roads in Luzon were impassable, while three had limited access due to rains from the southwest monsoon that triggered flooding and landslides.  

“Seven national road sections are still closed to traffic while three are inaccessible to light vehicles per 12:00 noon Monday,” the department said in an advisory.  

Roads that were impassable to all types of vehicles were the Baguio-Bontoc Road, Busa Bridge in Sabangan, Mt. Province; Abra-Kalinga Road in Gacab, Malibcong, Abra and Abra-Ilocos Norte Road in Nagaparan, Danglas, Abra; Junction Layac Balanga Mariveles Port Road Zigzag Section in Bataan and Mindoro West Coastal Road, Pag-asa Section, in Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro.  

The Kalinga–Abra Road in Bulac, Balbalan, Kalinga and the Mt. Province-Ilocos Sur Road via Tue, Beto Section, in Tue, Tadian, Mt. Province were also closed due to soil and rock collapse.   

“Quick Response Teams have been mobilized to conduct clearing operation along the affected sections,” the department said.  

Closed to light vehicles due to flooding were the Apalit Macabebe Masantol Road at Intermittent Sections and Sto Tomas-Minalin Road (Minalin-Macabebe Section) in Pampanga; and Bigaa Plaridel via Bulacan and Malolos (Panginay Section).  

The department noted that all other national roads and bridges in other affected regions were passable to all types of vehicles. — Arjay L. Balinbin