LRT chief takes over MRT line

Posted on January 13, 2011 08:04:20 PM | BREAKING NEWS

LIGHT RAIL Transit Authority (LRTA) administrator Rafael S. Rodriguez will take over as officer-in-charge of Metro Rail Transit 3 (MRT-3) effective today.

Jose P. De Jesus, Transportation secretary, told BusinessWorld in a telephone interview he has appointed Mr. Rodriguez as administrator of LRTA and MRT-3 in preparation for the integration of operations of Metro Manila's three light railway lines.

On Tuesday, the Transportation department said fare hikes at Metro Manila’s three light railways have been tentatively okayed with implementation scheduled for March 1 once public consultations are finished and final approval secured.

The provisional increase involves a fare of P11 upon boarding and an additional P1 per kilometer.

The 20.7-kilometer LRT Line 1 runs from Baclaran in Pasay to Roosevelt station in Quezon City while the 13.8-kilometer LRT Line 2 runs from Santolan in Pasig to Recto station in Manila. The 16.95-kilometer Metro Rail Transit-3 (MRT-3), meanwhile, runs from North Avenue in Quezon City to Taft Avenue in Manila.

Fares in all three lines currently range from P12 to P20. -- Aura Marie P. Dagcutan