Arts & Leisure

Mindanao film bags major awards at 40th Gawad Urian

Posted on July 22, 2017

The Women of the Weeping River swept most of the awards at the 40th Gawad Urian, taking home the trophies for Best Picture, Best Direction, and Best Screenplay for its director Sheron Dayoc, Best Supporting Actress for Sharifa Pearlsia Ali-Dans, Best Cinematography, and Best Editing.

Also a major winner at the 2016 QCinema International Film Festival, the Women of the Weeping River highlights the stories and culture of Mindanao and its people, particularly the issue of war clan or “rido.” Set in Zamboanga, the film tells the tale of Satra, who finds herself caught amid a blood feud that dates back several generations. She initially wants to seek revenge for the death of his husband, but is convinced to back off after the death of her only child, Amiya. Going against her own family, she meets up with the matriarch of the rival family for possible peace and reconciliation.

The 120-minute film has dialogue in Tausug and actors who are natives of Sulu and Zamboanga.

Sheron Dayoc beat out two award-winning directors -- Brillante Mendoza (Ma’Rosa) and Lav Diaz (Ang Babaeng Humayo) -- who were nominated in the Best Director category.

The 40th Gawad Urian was held yesterday, July 20, at the ABS-CBN Studio 10 in Quezon City.

Here are the winners:

Best Picture: Women of the Weeping River

Best Director: Sheron Dayoc, Women of the Weeping River

Best Actor: Paolo Ballesteros, Die Beautiful

Best Actress: Hasmine Kilip, Pamilya Ordinaryo

Supporting Actor: Christian Bables, Die Beautiful

Supporting Actress: Sharifa Pearlsia Ali-Dans, Women of the Weeping River

Best Screenplay: Women of the Weeping River, Sheron Dayoc

Best Cinematography: Women of the Weeping River, Rommel Sales

Best Editing: Women of the Weeping River, Carlo Francisco Manatad

Best Music: Tuos, Jema Pamintuan

Best Sound: Hinulid, Mark Laccay

Best Documentary: Sunday Beauty Queen, Babyruth Villarama-Gutierrez

Best Short Film: Nakaw, Arvin Kadiboy Belarmino and Noel Escondo

Batangas Governor Vilma Santos-Recto received the Natatanging Gawad Urian award. She had earned her first Urian trophy for her 1982 movie, Relasyon. -- Nickky Faustine P. De Guzman