Arts & Leisure

Mindanao-based Women of the Weeping River bags most Gawad Urian nominations

Posted on June 30, 2017

SHERON DAYOC’S 2016 film about two Muslim women trying undo an escalating blood feud, Women of the Weeping River, leads the official list of nominees for the 40th Gawad Urian Awards, slated on July 20, as it garnered 12 nominations.

The film is nominated for most categories including Best Picture, Best Director for Mr. Dayoc, Best Actress for Laila Ulao, Best Supporting Actor for Taha Daranda, and Best Supporting Actress for Sharifa Pearlsia Ali-Dans and Mariam Zimadar Haji Caranay Raper.

Women of the Weeping River won Best Picture at the 2016 QCinema International Film Festival, organized by the Quezon City government. Ms. Ulao and Mr. Daranda won Best Actress and Best Supporting Actor, respectively, in the same festival.

Mr. Dayoc’s Mindanaoan film is followed in number of nominations by Zig Madamba Dulay’s Paglipay which is the story of an Aeta who tries to reconcile his traditional roots (the slash-and-burn livelihood) with the modern world in order to fulfil the bride price and marry his arranged bride.

Paglipay garnered 11 nominations including Best Picture, Best Director for Mr. Madamba Dulay, Best Actor for Gary Cabalic, and Best Supporting Actress for Anna Luna and Joan dela Cruz, as well as other technical awards.

Also in the running for two of the most prestigious awards are film festival favorites Ma’Rosa by Brillante Mendoza and Ang Babaeng Humayo by Lav Diaz

The Gawad Urian, handed by the critics group Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP), is the local film industry’s equivalent to the prestigious Academy Awards of the UUS and the British Academy of Film and Television Arts Awards in the UK.

The awards night will be telecast on July 20, 9 p.m., on Cinema One (SkyCable ch. 56, Destiny Cable Digital Channel 56, and Destiny Analog Ch. 37).

The nominees are:

• Best Picture: Pamilya Ordinaryo by Eduardo Roy, Jr.; Paglipay by Zig Madamba Dulay; Ang Babaeng Humayo by Lav Diaz; Women of the Weeping River by Sheron Dayoc; Ma’ Rosa by Brillante Mendoza; Baboy Halas by Bagane Fiola

• Best Director: Brilliante Mendoza (Ma’ Rosa); Eduardo W. Roy, Jr. (Pamilya Ordinaryo); Zig Madamba Dulay (Paglipay); Lav Diaz (Ang Babaeng Humayo); Bagane Fiola (Baboy Halas); Paolo Villaluna (Pauwi Na); Avid Liongoren (Saving Sally); Sheron Dayoc (Women of the Weeping River); Lemuel Lorca (Ned’s Project)

• Best Actor: Tommy Abuel (Dagsin); Bembol Roco (Pauwi Na); Garry Cabalic (Paglipay); Khalil Ramos (2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten); Paolo Ballesteros (Die Beautiful); Ronwaldo Martin (Pamilya Ordinaryo); Pepe Smith (Singing in Graveyards)

• Best Actress: Nora Aunor (Hinulid); Laila Ulao (Women of the Weeping River); Jaclyn Jose (Ma’ Rosa); Cherry Pie Picache (Pauwi Na); Ai Ai delas Alas (Area); Charo Santos (Ang Babaeng Humayo); Elizabeth Oropesa (MRS); Irma Adlawan (ORO); Hasmine Kilip (Pamilya Ordinaryo); Angeli Bayani (Ned’s Project)

• Best Supporting Actor: Taha Daranda (Women of the Weeping River); Christian Bables (Die Beautiful); Jess Mendoza (Hinulid); John Lloyd Cruz (Ang Babaeng Humayo); Nonie Buencamino (Ang Babaeng Humayo); Julio Diaz (Ma’ Rosa)

• Best Supporting Actress; Rhed Bustamante (Seklusyon); Barbie Forteza (Tuos); Sharifa Pearlsia Ali-Dans (Women of the Weeping River); Anna Luna (Paglipay); Joan Dela Cruz (Paglipay)

Lui Manansala (Ned’s Project); Lotlot de Leon (MRS); Meryll Soriano (Pauwi Na); Janine Gutierrez (Dagsin); Mariam Zimadar Haji Caranay Raper (Women of the Weeping River)

• Best Screenplay: Ned’s Project, John Bedia; Pauwi Na, Paolo Villaluna and Ellen Ramos; Women of the Weeping River, Sheron Dayoc; Paglipay, Zig Madamba Dulay; Ma’ Rosa, Troy Espiritu; Patay na si Jesus, Fatrick Tabada; Ang Babaeng Humayo, Lav Diaz; Pamilya Ordinaryo, Eduardo Roy, Jr.

• Best Cinematography; Women of the Weeping River, Rommel Sales; Ang Babaeng Humayo, Lav Diaz; Ma’ Rosa, Odyssey Flores; Paglipay, Albert Banzon; Pamilya Ordinaryo, Albert Banzon; Baboy Halas, Raphael Meting and Mark Limbaga; Tuos, Mycko David

• Best Production Design: Ma’ Rosa, Dante Mendoza; Die Beautiful, Angel Diesta; Ned’s Project, John Paul Sapitula; Women of the Weeping River, Harley Alcasid; Pamilya Ordinaryo, Harley Alcasid; Paglipay, Aped Santos; Saving Sally, Erik Manalo and Rommel Laquian; Hinulid, Ryan Cuatrona and Celine Belino; Baboy Halas, Joel Geolamen

• Best Editing: Women of the Weeping River, Carlo Francisco Manatad; Ma’ Rosa, Diego Marx Dobles; Pauwi Na, Ellen Ramo and Paolo Villaluna; Ang Babaeng Humayo, Lav Diaz; Pamilya Ordinaryo, Carlo Francisco Manatad; Paglipay, Zig Madamba Dulay; Die Beautiful, Benjamin Gonzales Tolentino

• Best Music: Paglipay, Gian Gianan; Women of the Weeping River, Kit Mendoza; Saving Sally, Pablo Pico; Pauwi Na, Pike Ramirez, Paolo Villaluna and Veena Ramirez; Tuos, Jema Pamintuan

• Best Sound: Hinulid, Mark Laccay; Women of the Weeping River, Albert Michael Idioma and Immanuel Verona; Ang Babaeng Humayo, Corinne De San Jose, Mark Locsin and Che Villanueva; Pamilya Ordinaryo, Albert Michael Idioma and Emmanuel Verona; Ma’ Rosa, Albert Michael Idioma; Paglipay, Andrew Milallos; Baboy Halas, Willie Apa, Jr. and Charlie Daclan

• Natatanging Gawad Urian: Vilma Santos-Recto -- Zsarlene B. Chua